Winnie The Pooh Costume (And First Post- Yay!)

I had been thinking of starting a blog for some time but never got around to it. I figured now was as good a time as any and there was no point to putting it off any further. I go so many places, do so many things, I want a record of it all. And if I can help someone else who’s planning a trip to someplace I’ve been, even better. I hope for this to be just a general lifestyle blog with posts on dining, shopping, travel, crafting, and more. So there will be a little bit of everything.

I can’t eat gluten, so all the food that get’s posted here is gluten free. I have Celiac disease and I passed the gene on to my son. I am not on a fad diet, I do not cheat- ever. So if I’m recommending a brand or a restaurant it’s safe to assume I’ve researched the brand, asked all the right questions, and it’s genuinely gluten free.

I travel constantly. I got back from a Canada/New England cruise almost a week ago. I spent a few days both before and after in Boston visiting family, as well as a few bonus days in both New York and Quebec. I’m home now and will be in Seattle by Sunday, after that it’s home for a few weeks, then off to California. I like to take photos of my adventures while away and yes, I’m one of those annoying people who photographs their food before eating it- so get ready to see it.

I love to craft and sew. I separate the two because I view them differently. If I’m making clothing I’m SEWING, if I’m making reusable snack bags then I’m crafting, and yes I do both. I never got into scrapbooking, but I have all the stuff and I use it for other things. I’m a sticker addict and I think everything looks better with glitter. I hope to post tutorials from time to time. I can’t guarantee they’ll be any good, but there will be ideas. So to kick things off here’s a mini tutorial just in time for Halloween.

Women’s Winnie The Pooh Costume


I bought my son this costume, you can get it here. http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=20278176Image

I thought it would be cute to match him and started looking online. I found this dress

Image

I thought it was cute, but it was also going to cost me a minimum of $40 and it still might not get to me in time for my trip. I couldn’t breastfeed in it either, so it just wasn’t going to work. Then I remembered I had a red t-shirt I bought from The Gap Outlet years ago. I also had two X-Large t-shirts in the “right” yellow that I had bought at least seven years ago (for a different project I didn’t finish, hooray for hoarding!). So I washed them and got to work.

Image

So those are my supplies. I also had some blanket binding in red. I had blue as well but thought the red would look better. I also bought some yellow netting from WalMart because I figured the jersey would just hang there without some help.

I laid out the two shirts on my self healing mat and cut off the tops where the neck is and then up the sides so I had four equal pieces. I serged them together to form one long piece and then grabbed the net, folded it in half and serged it along the top. Then when I was done I folded over the jersey by about an inch (on itself with the net hanging down) and stitched that down.

Image

The two yards of netting was almost long enough. I just cut off the extra fabric. I didn’t really care that it would throw off the seams. This is a costume, and I may never wear it again- there’s a limit to how perfect it needs to be. After that I sewed the blanket binding over the casing and threaded in the elastic. I serged it closed and was finished. An hour or so of my time and $2.22 for the netting and I had a “Winnie The Pooh” costume. I hope to make some matching ears, I don’t have time to buy them. So without further ado here it is, modeled by Estelle!

Image

3 thoughts on “Winnie The Pooh Costume (And First Post- Yay!)

Leave a Reply

