Celiac Friendly Cosmetics

I love makeup, even though I don’t wear it everyday. It’s fun, girly, and pretty- both to wear and look at. I own quite a bit, but my favorite brand has to be Too Faced. They were super helpful when I emailed them to ask if they were gluten free. They even say right on their website that all of their cosmetics (with the exception of Borderline Lip Pencil) are gluten free. I love that. One less thing to worry about.

A lot of brands aren’t clear, or they have some safe things. Others are safe, then suddenly aren’t (I’m looking at you NARS). MAC for example is not completely safe, only some products and in certain finishes. It’s not just annoying, it’s potentially unsafe. I’ll take a gamble on one of their eyeshadows, but I’d never buy a lipstick from them. Urban Decay’s stuff is mostly gluten free, but not a single lip product is. So I’m glad I have Too Faced, they have so much to pick from.

Benefit is also a good brand, though they’ve changed their official statement. They’re now in “were safe, but we’re covering our butts just incase” mode. They’ve removed wheat germ from all of their products, “except from a remaining few”. They don’t say what those few products are but their lipsticks were always gluten free. I’m going to go out on a limb and say they now refuse to make a solid statement because of the vitamin e (a.k.a. tocopherol or wheat germ) controversy. The reality of it is it’s an ingredient not worth loosing sleep over, this is a great article about it. http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/vitamin-e-from-wheat-germ-oil/  Either way, I need to contact them again to find out what exactly those remaining few products are. Just to be safe.

Right now all of the cosmetic companies are putting out their Christmas Boxes and I’ve bought three. I’m trying to use restraint and not buy everything because they’re all so pretty. Here’s what I picked out

Image

Too Faced’s A Few Of My Favorite Things Palette

Image

Too Faced’s Be Merry, Be Bright Kit

Image

Urban Decay’s Vice 2 Palette

Image

Too Faced’s Shadow BonBons (I bought this one last year but I still love it. It’s still for available on Sephora.com, and it’s on sale now!)

I’m so happy there were so many pinks, browns, and beiges in these kits as they’re my favorites. I’m also excited about the greens, I love green and it loves me. I’m going to Seattle on Sunday and I depotted everything except for the Be Merry – Be Bright kit (I may not depot that one). I can’t decide which colors I want to bring, I’m too excited having so many new ones to pick from. I’m glad I have my Unii Palettes, I limit myself to one when I travel. Otherwise I’d bring way too much. I have a small cosmetic bag and I try to limit myself to whatever can fit it.

I’m also pleased that everything I depotted was in a steel pan. That means I didn’t have to add the metal stickers to them. I have a ton but I prefer not to use them if I don’t have to. It’s just an extra step and sometimes in the tropical heat here, the glue melts and they come unstuck.

Quick note:

Some of the images I used were from the manufactures, others were taken from Temptalia. It’s a great makeup blog and you should check it out if you haven’t already. There are reviews for all of the kits I listed here on her site. The woman who runs the site is very honest and knows her stuff.

http://www.temptalia.com/category/brands/too-faced

2 thoughts on “Celiac Friendly Cosmetics

  1. They really are. They come in a lavender box that’s covered in that flocking stuff. It wasn’t practical to use while doing my makeup though, so I depotted them. I still have the box, but now it houses other things. If you look at the last photo on my DIY palettes post you’ll see the depotted pans in the top right corner.

Leave a Reply

