Cocoppa, The Cutest App Ever

Image

I recently stumbled upon this app and I’m in love with it. I saw someone talking about it in a YouTube video and downloaded it before I’d even finished watching. It’s pretty easy to use and the results are worth the time it takes to make your iStuff cute. Here’s a look at what my iPad and iPhone now look like.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

As you can see many of my apps look different from the ones that pop up when you download them from the App Store. That’s because Cocoppa lets you change their appearance. There is one catch, and it may be a deal breaker for some. When you click on the icon it opens Safari and then reroutes to the app. So there’s a delay of a few seconds and sometimes when you open Safari it instantly redirects you to the app you last used. It doesn’t happen often, and is mostly if you’re swapping between apps and Safari every two seconds. I personally don’t mind it, and I don’t use the apps on my iPhone often so it’s kind of a non issue there. I use my phone almost exclusively for calls, texts, photos, and finding gluten free food. So if the apps are slightly more fidgety to use I don’t care.

My iPad is a different story. The reason I don’t like to use the apps on my phone is because I prefer full sites to mobile sites. With the iPad you don’t really need to use the mobile sites so I never do. For the most part those apps were just on that device because I just transferred everything from my phone when I set up my iPad. I almost never used them, they were just clutter. Now I do use them, because I found a much better way to use the Cocoappa app and I’m going to show you how to do it too! I’m going to show you how to create an app that will lead you directly to my blog, but you can use this for any website.

First I went to my blog, tapped on the address bar and copied the address.

Image

Then I opened the Cocoppa app and scrolled to the bottom so I could type in the name of the app I was looking to create.

Image

I hit search and and a bunch of icon options popped up. There were only 30 or so for WordPress but for some others there’s tens of thousands. You can also create your own. For this tutorial I just picked one of the ones available.

Image

After you pick the icon you want, click on it. It’ll take you to this page, click on the yellow “Use this icon” button. Image

Once here you’re going to want to click on the grey “Enter URL Scheme” button.

Image

Paste that web address you copied in the beginning into the box and hit “OK”.

Image

After you do that you’ll the app will open Safari and you’ll see this screen. Follow the instructions on the screen by hitting that little square with the arrow. On the bottom of the box that opens you’ll be given options, click on “Add To Homescreen”. Just to say, I know this is now an app for Facebook. There was a little hiccup so this is a different image but it’s still showing all the right stuff. I just wanted you to see what the options look like so you know exactly what to click, you want the one in the middle under the Twitter icon.

Image

Now you can click on the name part and change it to whatever you want. There’s also an option to do this on the Cocoppa app but it really doesn’t matter when you do it. But if you forget you’ll have to delete the app and start over if you don’t want a web address as the icon label. I forgot earlier so I changed it to my blog name on this page. When you’re done hit “Add”.

Image

After you hit add it’ll close that page and you’ll be taken back to your home screen and your new button will be there!

I looked at a few blogs after I downloaded this app and no one mentioned doing this, I don’t know why not. It makes perfect sense. After I made my phone pretty I wanted to do the same for my iPad, but thought it might be a waste of time. Two seconds later I realized I could swap out the apps for direct links and now I actually use the apps I once regarded as clutter. My Facebook app now opens to the full Facebook site, I even have more than one button so I can pick regular Facebook or our Family Page. I love that.

My only gripe is that there aren’t icons for every app. Also, some of them don’t work. One of them, Find Me Gluten Free is on the Cocoppa app, but it says I need to download it from the App Store. I’ve already downloaded it, checked that it was updated, even deleted and reinstalled it. Nothing has worked. I’m thinking of contacting Cocoppa because I would really like to swap out that icon.

It’s also worth mentioning that you can’t change certain icons at all. FaceTime, iPhoto, Mail, Settings, etc. I was really bummed about that because I keep all of those on the first page of my home screen. I actually emailed Tim Cook asking him to at least make it so we could pick the color of those apps (like change FaceTime from green to pink). I have yet to hear back. I don’t see why it’s not possible. When you get one of the colored iPhones the wallpaper matches the phone (at least when you first turn it on). And they went on and on about how awesome it was that you can now “pick a color that represents you” and how they specially designed cases to showcase the color of the phone. Well, how about letting us pick the color of stock apps? If you have a pink phone and a blue case maybe you’d like all your apps to be pick with a blue background, sort of mirroring the back of the phone. It makes sense. Hopefully will see more customization options in the future. For now I guess I’m just going to have to be happy with the apps I can customize.

If you’re interested in the wallpaper I have on both of my devices I use Cuptakes, here’s their site: http://www.cuptakes.com

They offer wallpaper apps (iPhone and desktop) and a photo one. I have the iPhone wallpaper app and photo one, I don’t own the desktop app. The images are high quality and they update frequently. It isn’t a free app, but it is dirt cheap at 99 cents and with the frequent updates it’s totally worth it. They also sell iPhone cases that match their wallpapers which is kind of cool but I still prefer my old, scuffed up, glitter Casemate one. Cuptakes is one of the highest rated apps specifically geared towards women. Cocoppa was named by Apple as one of the Best apps for 2013, it’s also free. So they’re the best apps to have if you’re into customization and you love girly stuff.

One last thing, a few of Cuptakes wallpapers contain Bible verses. I personally don’t mind and will probably end up using them, but it’s something to keep in mind if you’re not Catholic/Christian. I didn’t see any images or information showing this on the App Store, and didn’t see any on their blog either. Only the most recent religious wallpaper had a plain option, the others were take it or leave it. Also they have a few that say things like “Daddy’s Girl” which is great- if you have a father. For people without one these are a waste. They don’t have mother centered options. I may contact them asking if they plan to include some in the future. It’s actually a bit odd there are no Mum ones considering this is an app geared towards women. But despite this I still find it a worthwhile app and don’t regret the purchase at all.

One thought on “Cocoppa, The Cutest App Ever

  1. Pingback: Getting Organized, The Fun Way | the koolchicken

Leave a Reply

