Guess I Still Won’t Be Eating At Disneyland

Image

 

There’s a saying I’ve had for years, and I’m reminded of it now. “That really burns my toast”. I don’t know where or when I picked it up, but it seems appropriate for so many situations. This is one of them. 

I heard back from Disneyland. To say I was unimpressed with their response to my genuine concerns would be the understatement of the year. It felt rude, and like a slap in the face. They clearly do not care. Here is their response to my email.

 

Thank you for your e-mail to the DISNEYLAND® Resort.

We apologize for the disappointments you mentioned in your e-mail.  In
recent years, there has been an increased public awareness of food
availability and preparation due to food allergies.  As a result, the
Resort has expanded its alternative food offerings, including a greater
number of vegetarian and gluten-free items.

Since tastes vary from Guest to Guest, we are constantly faced with the
challenge of providing our Guests with a wide variety of foods, and it
concerns us that you state you were unable to find anything for
consumption while you were here with us.  Please be assured that we have
shared your comments with the Food & Beverage management team as
feedback such as yours is taken very seriously.

For future visits, questions regarding accommodations for special
dietary needs while at the Resort Theme Parks, including product
availability, preparation methods, and ingredient lists please contact
The Chef at (714) 781-3569.  The Chef may not be available to answer all
calls immediately, however, The Chef will answer all messages left on
voice mail.  For restaurants at the Hotels of the DISNEYLAND® Resort,
please contact The Chef’s Office at (714) 956-6719.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write.  We hope you will have
the opportunity to visit the DISNEYLAND® Resort again soon and trust
your visit will be pleasant in all regards.

Sincerely,

Demosthenes Miles
DISNEYLAND® Resort
Guest Experience Services

 

There is absolutely no way on God’s green Earth they “expanded their alternate food offerings”. If that were true I would have had an easier time eating at the park, not a harder time. I think it would be fair to say that their staff would have gladly informed me of these options instead of saying “What?” whenever I asked what’s gluten free. So if they have new gluten free foods available it’s the best kept secret in the park. 

As for their comment about tastes varying, I agree. However I think it’s important to point out my problem was not with finding something I like, but something that was safe- big difference there. Being gluten free isn’t a lifestyle choice for me. If it was I would have given it up years ago. Jealousy is not an emotion I’m very familiar with, but I think it’s fair to say that’s what I’m feeling when I watch those around me bite into a pretty cookie and I don’t even get some sad looking one. Or maybe it’s just plain sadness. I don’t know, I just know being gluten free isn’t my idea of a good time.

I think it’s great they gave me the number of The Chef, whoever that is. But is he going to hold my hand as we stroll through the park? Will he go back into the kitchen to whip me up a little something when I start getting peckish? Will he ensure the staff that’s already back there has been safe all day so the place isn’t some cross contamination nightmare? If the answer to any of these questions is no then I don’t expect him to be much help. 

I seriously doubt they are taking my concerns seriously. If they were they wouldn’t have written such a ridiculous response. It doesn’t actually address my complaint, it just says “we have plenty to pick from, sorry you’re so picky”. They didn’t mention if things have changed at Disney World as well, even though I asked them point blank. I will call that number and I will expect real answers from whoever picks up the phone. If not I’m going to be really, really angry.

As I mentioned in the previous post we have an annual passport and it wasn’t cheap. My husband and I are planning a trip to Florida in February. I think we should go and try to get our moneys worth out of the tickets. But if I run into the same problems at that park I don’t see the point in renewing our passes next year. Why would I want to give more money to a company that doesn’t care about it’s guests? If I can’t eat, or eat without issue then my visit will not “be pleasant in all regards”. 

And for the record I’m not a jerk. I know preparing special meals takes extra work and I was always grateful for those who put that extra effort in. I will happily wait while you preheat the deep fryer, or cook my pizza separately. I will wait as long as you need me to so the chef can come out to talk to me. I will eat at off peak times. I will pay more for my food because I know it costs more. I just want it to be there for me when I need it. I could understand if I were whining about the lack of vegan ice cream options, but I’m not. I just want lunch, I didn’t think that was too much to ask. I guess Disney disagrees.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Guess I Still Won’t Be Eating At Disneyland

  1. It sounds as if they sent you a generic response they send off to anyone who makes a dietary inquiry. Your concerns never got addressed. Surely they have employees assigned to this task. I hope Florida visit goes smoother. We had good luck there two years ago…

    • I agree, they totally gave me the brush off. They’re “constantly faced with the challenge of providing their guest of a wide variety of foods”? If that’s true then they must not be too concerned since they’ve had the exact same menus in the same locations for years. But yes, I too hope I have a better experience in Florida. They’re usually better staffed and by happier people. I always have a good time there.

Leave a Reply

