Beautiful On The Inside

My husband had to go away for a few days so I’ve had a lot of free time to work on projects. One of the things I wanted to do was make the inside of my drawers pretty and functional. So I hopped on Amazon to see what they had and I wasn’t disappointed. I’ve always been intrigued by those honeycomb like dividers for underwear and sock drawers. You always see them on organization blogs and shows, but I don’t know a soul who owns one. I decided to just bite the bullet and order some. I got lucky, Amazon had these ones.

Image

They come in pink, white, and blue. I was so excited because I’d only ever seen them in white before. The packaging they came in was largely in Chinese, so I’m guessing that’s why I’d never seen them in store. I may have to keep an eye out the next time I’m in a Chinatown though. They’re totally worth the suitcase space. I bought the only two they had in blue and today when I went back for just one more I found they had sold out of the white so I bought a pink one instead. Fine by me, the white had been more expensive anyways. It might have matched my colors a bit better, but pink is prettier so I’m considering it a blessing in disguise. 

I have Amazon Prine so they came within two days. One box showed up the next day, the other arrived today. They were a bit tough to snap together. It’s not that it was complicated, it just required a lot of force and my fingers were sore by the end. They’re a very sturdy plastic. In the future I could disassemble them and hand wash or run them through the dishwasher if I wanted to. I probably won’t need to if I’m just keeping socks in here but the packaging suggested using them for hair things and makeup. So if you did that then you’ll probably want to wash them and the cheap fabric ones just won’t survive that, these will. Here they are in action.

Image

This is my sock collection. I’m missing some Peds and a couple of other pairs but this is pretty much it. Before I installed this I had them all laid out flat and couldn’t have fit anything else in. Now I have space to add even more if I want! They didn’t completely fill my drawers, that’s why I bought the third pack. I plan to take them apart and mix the colors to make it look a bit more interesting. Perhaps a stripe running down the middle?

Image

As you can see this is how they snap together. The plastic is pretty sturdy too.

Image

Now I hate to disappoint people but I will not be showing you my underwear drawer. I’m sorry if you were here for just that, it simply won’t be happening. Besides, the sock drawer is way more interesting.

 

Now I’m going to show what I did in some of my bathroom drawers. I’ve gone from having three full sized drawers all to myself down to one set that I have to share. So far it’s not that bad. I mostly share the top one, and I have the bottom two for myself. I’ve been using the very last one for just overflow of some things, razor blades, toothpaste, q-tips. Basically the stuff we buy in bulk from Costco, not very exciting. I’ll show you the top two though, as they’re what’s used everyday. Lets start with the top one. 

Image

This drawer is about 80% my husbands and 20% mine. I only use the floss picks, toothpaste, and q-tips, everything else is his. I added the shelf paper. It’s not the adhesive backed contact paper but the friction backed puffy stuff. I got it at Wal-Mart and I love it, it’s so cute! As this is a rental I didn’t want to use the contact paper because I didn’t want to risk it not coming off later on. This was a good compromise and serves the dual function of being both cute and practical. Before I put it in there the drawers were just grimy from “others”. We cleaned them, but still. It also keeps everything from sliding around in there. There’s one other thing I did, I trimmed the q-tip box. I know it seems like a weird thing to bring up but I figured why not. I don’t like things just crammed in places. Just trimming off a half inch of the top of that box meant the alcohol swabs now fit perfectly giving us more room. Little things like that can make a big difference.

Image

This next drawer is way more interesting. I got the organizer at Home Goods and it fits my flat iron perfectly. I also loved how there was just enough room to also stash my sectioning clips with it. Aren’t the colors great with the blue divider and Hello Kitty background? I found them at Target for $2 for a pack of three and they work really well even though my hair is slippery. The other side has my combs, pins, hair ties, and bun maker. Side note, can I just say how much I love that bun maker? The polar fleece is fantastic! My hair always slips out of the foam kind but with the fleece it just works. I paid I think $3 at TJ Maxx but it’s worth it’s weight in gold. 

Image

You may have noticed my hair ties were on a little metal ring. It’s called a binder ring and you can get an 8 pack for $1.87 at Target in their office supplies section. It comes in a multi pack, 8 different sizes. Now at first I was super excited, but using them disappointed me. I’ve bought these in the past, I paid a lot more on Amazon but the quality was way better. So even though you get multiple sizes with this pack I’d skip these. They did come with two huge ones and two really tiny ones that I like, but in the future I plan to go to Staples or some place like that. I’d rather pay a bit more and get ones that actually open. Plus they make colored ones now…

Image

Now I know what you’re thinking , “koolchicken that’s a trivet”. Well you’re right. I know you’re probably wondering how I got from hair stuff to this, but I’ll tell you. I put my flat iron on it to protect the counter. At my other house I have one of these that’s made for that purpose. It’s slightly raised and longer, but this works just fine- and it was $3 at World Market. It usually sits on top of my flat iron in the back of the drawer but I took it out for the photos. I wanted to share this though, I think it’s a good idea. 🙂

 

Lastly, in case you were wondering how I fold my socks so they look nice in the dividers I’ll show you how I did it. I’ve been folding them this way since my mother taught me how to fold at like age two. Some of you probably already know how to do this, but my husband had never seen it before he met me so I thought I’d share.

Image

Step one, get really cute socks and put them one on top of the other.

Image

Step two, fold those suckers in half.

Image

Step three, grab them like this and get ready to flip. Not you, the socks! Safety first.

Image

Step four, you’re doing it. Keep going, don’t stop now!

Image

Step five, admire you’re super cute socks! From here I fold them in half once more and stuff them in the dividers. They fit perfectly and look nice at the same time. My husband thinks this will stretch out the elastic in the socks. I have never found this to be an issue, but he insists I don’t do this to his socks. So just be aware, if there are elastic sensitive people in your home they may not appreciate your nifty sock folding. Tragic.

 

Leave a Reply

