My First Yumiko!

As promised here is my review of my new Yumiko.

First off is shipping- it took forever. They say to expect 4-6 weeks for construction and shipping but it was more like 8. Then, after all I paid they shipped it in one of those plastic bag mailers and it was just stuffed into a plastic bag with my name, the colors, size, and style number printed on it. I was so happy when I ripped open the package but after thinking about it I was pretty miffed. This leo was more than a hundred dollars, and they couldn’t even be bothered to fold it? So it arrived wrinkled and if it was handled roughly at all it could have been seriously damaged in shipping and I would have had to wait another two months for a replacement. I don’t think it would kill them to spring for a box and wrap it a little better. 

Now for the actual leotard.

ImageImage

The first photo is the front and the second is the back. As you can see the neckline in the front is about two inches higher than it is in the back. The wrinkling is due to the way it was packaged. For those who are interested the style is Marieke, and the colors are lavender for the body and atoll for the trim.

Image

I was aiming for better light here but didn’t get it. For the most accurate color look for lavender on the color chart I posted before. It rained all day here and I could not get an accurate color shot to save my life today. Anyways, it drapes quite nicely and I think that’s probably part of why they fit the way they do.

Image

This is a shot of it inside out. As you can see the lining is the same material as the rest of the leo which I think makes it feel more substantial. The lining is only on the front panel and is not on the back or the sleeves.

Image

Please forgive my juvenile chipped and sparkly nail polish. 😉 This is the lining and the front panel. 

Image

That’s the tag, I’m sure it’ll be gone after my next class.

 

Full disclaimer it’s been a while since I’ve been to a class so any muscle I might have had has been transformed to marshmallow. I hope you all appreciate this.

Image

ImageImage

As you can see I’ve yet to perfect the art of the selfie. I’m positive there’s a way to do them so I appear less flat (both front and back) and slimmer but I have no freaking clue how. 

I happened to have on one of those stretchy bras I talked about before and decided to keep it on. That way you could have an idea of how low cut it is. It comes to camisole level for the most part. The leg opening is generous and I opted for the normal low leg. My inseam is 36 inches (yes, you read that right) so I don’t need the high cut to make them look longer. Nature took care of that for me. I was surprised the sleeves were long enough, I was worried since my arms are super long too. I don’t think I’d try the full sleeves but I’d defiantly get 3/4 ones again.

Image

I wanted to include this side shot so you can really see the difference the front panel makes. This fabric isn’t exactly being stretched to the max and it’s still quite sheer. So if you’re getting anything this color or lighter I highly recommend getting the full front panel and not just the bust panel. Otherwise you may end up embarrassed…

 

All in all I’d say I’m very happy with this purchase. It was expensive but this leotard is so comfortable and it’s really well made. The fabric just feels nice, both in my hand and on. I could see this particular fabric lasting a very long time even with less than stellar care. If I do take care of it I’m sure I’ll have it for many years to come. I will probably add one or two more to my collection before the year is out. Now I just need to find a new studio so I can put this one to work!

If anyone has any questions feel free to ask them in the comment section, I’ll answer you as soon as I can!

 

15 thoughts on “My First Yumiko!

  1. Hey, your yumiko is gorgeous! I’m planning on getting my second one but can’t decide if I want 3/4 sleeves. Are they comfortable? I tend to sweat a lot in class so I wouldn’t want any discomfort.

    • So far I’ve found them comfortable. But I’ve yet to wear it to a class. I’m still looking for a new studio. But after I wear it a few times I’ll let you know what I think!

  2. Reblogged this on Lose It In lycra and commented:
    Yumiko womens leotard review. This purple womens leotard is well made and the blogger reports some great made fabric. It was “expensive” but “well made”. Thanks to the Koolchicken for this post.

  3. Hi,
    your leotard looks great, but I was shocked when I saw how sheer the fabric is! I got my Yumi today and I’m very pleased with it, but it’s a darker colour, N-Celtic, so I didn’t get a lining. I’m already thinking about the next one I’ll order but now I have to reconsider the colours. As for the packaging, I think the companies just save money that way. I ordered one leotard from Elevé (SMALL sizing, I had to sell it), and it was only stuffed into a plastic bag, too. However, since plastic is a very durable material and also waterproof, I don’t think the leotards could get damaged. But it’s not very chic, I agree with you.

    • Well I knew it would be somewhat sheer going in. I would seriously advise anyone looking at this brand to consider a full lining if they’re buying a color lighter than your Celtic. All medium toned fabric will be this sheer with this brand. I’ve tried on some of the pastel colors and they were so sheer I may as well have been wearing mesh, those colors are only suitable for trim.

      As for packaging, I have had things come damaged i the past when packaged plastic in plastic. The Gap sends their clothes that way and on several occasions I’ve had garments destroyed. Apparently when going through the sorting machines those grey bags sometimes get caught and “eaten”. And sadly sometimes the flimsy plastic bags that protect each garment get eaten too- right along with whatever’s in them. 😦 So it’s not chic or safe and for what we pay for these there needs to be better packaging.

  4. Hi,
    I really love your leotard, it looks great! I’ve heard that they are sheer, but I was really surprised when I look at your picture that shows really how sheer it is! I recently ordered my first Yumiko Leotard about 4 weeks ago, and I really wished I would have found your blog before I ordered it. It took me awhile to finally order it. I looked up information on how the leotard fits, looks, feels, etc., but I could hardly find anything. But anyway, I am happy that I have found your blog. Ok so I ordered the Alex with high-cut and bust lining (wish I would have done full). The trim is frappe and the base color is magenta. Do you think that it will turn out too sheer? I am also worried about the size because I have heard they run big? Ahh, I have so many questions. Also, it took me awhile to figure out the colors because the website does not give a very good overall view of what the colors actually look like. If mine turns out good, I will look at the picture you post of the fabric colors instead of the website next time! 😉
    ~thanks

    • Thanks! They are quite sheer- though not in all colors and fabrics. I’m sure you’ll be okay with a color like magenta. The one I bought was a different fabric type, and I’ve only handled the techni fabric briefly, but I’m sure it’ll be okay. Though you’ll only know for sure once it gets to you, I hope it works out for you.

      Truthfully I find them to run short/small. That’s also the general consensus from others I’ve heard from. But they’re all handmade so some variations in size are to be expected. In a perfect world we’d be able to try them all on before we buy them but then we wouldn’t have the variety of options available to us, and we’d probably have to sacrifice the handmade nature of them.

      I hope you like your leotard when it arrives! I’m glad I may be able to help you in the future, even if I couldn’t this time. There really is very little info on these leotards out there and that’s precisely why I wrote this post. Because those of us who own them should be sharing our experiences with them. The website lacks detailed photos of the actual product, there’s no real color chart, and they cost a fortune with no refunds allowed. It would be great if the company could step up their game but as I suspect they’re unlikely to change it’s up to us to fill in the gaps!

  5. oh yeah.. sorry haha what colors and styles do think look good together? I can’t tell on the website because for some they do not put the front or back of the leotard in the pictures.

  6. Hi it looks like it fits really well and im concerned about what size I should get for mine, i was wondering if you would maybe share your height and weight so I could get a better idea? I know that might be a lot to ask…???

    • It’s no problem. I’m 5’10” but my height is in my legs, I have a 37″ inseam! So my torso is more or less average length. As for weight I’m usually around 145 pounds. I lost a TON of muscle after I had my son, so I’m 145, but there’s a lot of “fluff” so I’m not super slim anymore as you can see. I wear a 34B in a bra although I believe I was bigger when this photo was taken (I was still breastfeeding). Look at the photos of my Alicia leotard to get an idea of what I look like now. And you really can’t be much bigger to wear that style it’s so low cut, you’ll be putting on a show for sure! Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

