DisneyBounding, A DIY Aurora

I’m headed back to Disney World the end of the month and have decided to take up DisneyBounding. For those of you who are unfamiliar you should check out the official Tumbler page. Now you can just pull together a look from your closet, but if you’re like me then you’re never content to leave anything alone. So I decided to whip up some quick and easy circle skirts in the “right” colors. Here’s some of the fabric I bought,

IMG_8199

As you can see I’m all set up for several princesses. Now I know most costumey tutorials out there will show you how to make a dress, but I’m going to show you skirts and I’ll tell you why. You see that yellow up there, it can be the bottom of Belle’s ball gown, or Snow White’s dress. That blue up on top, well that could be for Belle’s peasant dress, Alice’d dress, or Cinderella’s gown. Separates just give you so much more flexibility. I’m also thinking of branching out into half aprons. Basically I would make a skirt in a common color like pale blue. Then the overlay would just tie on over it. A white apron for Belle/Alice, something with glittery snowflakes for Elsa, pale blue triangles for Aurora, you get the idea. Today we’ll just be making a basic skirt with an overlay attached.

First pick your fabric. I’m starting with an Aurora inspired skirt so I picked the pink. I bought all of my materials at JoAnn Fabrics and the overlay is being made out of their “fancy” tulle. You might not be able to see it super well in the photos but it has this fuchsia metallic sheen to it. It’s not over the top and is only visible in certain lights but it’s very pretty.

IMG_8200

Part of keeping the whole thing super duper simple is adding an elastic waistband and not hemming it. Now tulle won’t unravel, but the taffeta I used underneath will. So I opted to use my serger. If you have one I suggest you dig it out. If you don’t then you’ll have to put on a proper hem. It’s not the end of the world, it’ll just take a little longer. I have no desire to hem something like this so I picked a colored thread for my serger that matched. Underneath the overlay you really can’t tell unless you’re looking closely. JoAnn’s was having a sale, 50% off all thread so I took this as my opportunity to stock up.

IMG_8201

I have like four more colors (hangs head in shame).

Now to make the skirt I simply laid my material out on the floor. I ironed it so I’d know it was perfect on the folds and so I’d have guide marks when it came time to serge the bottom and add the waistband. I suggest you do the same.

IMG_8202

If you look closely you’ll see my marks. I used a Sharpie that was almost the same color as my material. You can use disappearing ink pens but this took me a while and I like a clear line. I used the measuring tape you see in the background to make those lines. I just lined up my 0″ mark to the corner and swung the tape measure around while I followed behind with my other hand using the sharpie (I’m ambidextrous). For the bottom of the skirt my arms weren’t long enough so I just made a series of dots and connected them after.

IMG_8203

Here it is all cut out. To do the overlay I just folded it in quarters again and laid this on top of it. Then I just cut it out using this as a guide. Now keeping the two fabrics together is a pain in the neck while sewing. They slip and slide and tulle tends to stretch. So I hand basted them with a dark thread. I like to sew fast and sitting around fiddling with pins is only going to make me angry and fed up. So hand baste and save yourself a world of trouble. It’s faster, easier, and more precise than pinning.

IMG_8205

Hopefully you can see the thread I used, it is navy. Look how perfect you can get it basting it. It’s very satisfying. Now once you’ve done that pop it on the serger (or your regular machine) and sew the two layers together. Now is also the time to serge the hemline or add your hem. Once that’s done we’re going to add the waist band.

IMG_8208

Measure where you want the skirt to sit on your waist and cut the elastic an inch or so shorter than that measurement. Then sew it as I’ve shown. Now we’re going to pin it to the four corners.

IMG_8209

I just used my Sharpie again to make my marks on the elastic (fold it in half, mark both ends, use those marks to fold in half again and mark those ends- POOF, your four corners). Then I pinned it to the places that had the crease from earlier still ironed in. Now you’re going to want to use a zig zag stitch on your regular sewing machine. You could use your serger if you like but I found I just like the way it comes out better on my regular machine. To sew it, the circle you’ve cut out is going to be big enough to accommodate your hips (so you can get it on) but the elastic is much smaller, so it doesn’t gap at your waist. You’re going to need to stretch the elastic as you sew. Just pinch the fabric by your pins, stretch until the skirt fabric is almost completely taut and hit that pedal! Even though it’s a curved line it will go straight and I’ve never had to stop and adjust. This whole thing took me about an hour and a half, that’s complete with far too many goof off breaks.

On me two yards nets me a knee length skirt (I’m 5’10” with a 37″ inseam). If you’re making this for a small child you can totally get tea length. If you’re an adult who would like a longer skirt it’s easy. Just get twice as much yardage and sew it together in the middle to make one gigantic piece of fabric. Then just go about constructing the skirt the same way. It’ll be twice as long and also much fuller! This really couldn’t be easier!

Sorry if this was a bit confusing. I’m best at doing, not teaching. This blog is more of a record for myself and if I can help others out it’s a bonus. If this was really too confusing for you here’s a link to the site I used. Just click on the (incredibly helpful) measurement chart and it’ll take you there.

Image2

Here’s my finished look!

IMG_8213

It’s simple, really comfortable, and pretty cute. I probably won’t wear this combo but it gives you an idea of what DisneyBounding is if you didn’t click the link above. It’s creating an outfit that’s inspired by Disney characters. So if you’ve ever seen someone in the parks in regular clothes and though, “Hmmm, she looks just like (insert character here)” they’re probably DisneyBounding. And now I’ll be joining in on the fun!

I did make one other skirt with four layers of a different tulle. Can you guess who this look represents? 😉

IMG_8162

3 thoughts on “DisneyBounding, A DIY Aurora

    • Thank you! And you had it right the first time, it’s Ariel. She’s actually a pretty popular DisneyBound character. People do all kinds, some are very obvious, others less so. I’m aiming for just basic colors to represent my chosen characters this trip. So it’s a bit simplistic.

  1. Pingback: Mum’s Can Be Stylish Too | the koolchicken

Leave a Reply

