My Elevé Leotards Are Here!

I had no intention of writing this post so soon. But that’s 100% due to the fact I never thought these leotards would be here so soon. The tracking said they’d be delivered Saturday, so imagine my surprise to find them in box today! 

I bought two different styles. Here’s what they look like.

Anna_Front__63143.1276985212.960.1280

 

This is the Anna style, I added a bust liner. 

Nicole_front_DSC9680__96535.1277520188.960.1280

 

This is the Nicole style, I added a bust liner to this one as well.

I want to take this time to point out. There was no reason to omit the bust liner as unlike Yumiko, they do not charge extra for it. If you want a full front liner it is an additional $8 charge. That’s very reasonable considering it’s a $10 fee to add a bust liner or a full front liner on a Yumiko.

 Here are the photos of my leotards.

IMG_8862IMG_8863

IMG_8866IMG_8867

As you can see, the bust liner is just that, a liner. It is not a shelf bra and offers no additional support. It is the same material as the rest of the leotard, whereas the crotch liner is beige. From what I can tell, the crotch liner is made out of the same type of fabric as the rest of the leotard it’s not the thinner stuff.

The colors I picked are Steel for the base color and Orchid for the mesh and trim. 

IMG_8869 IMG_8870

IMG_8874 IMG_8871

This one features a beige bust liner. I’m guessing because it was easier since the front has two colors. It was really well done too. 

The colors for this are Black for the side panels, Vampire for the base, and the mesh is called Paint Your Roses Red. 

I will not be including photos of myself in these because I’ve already tried to take them and I hated how they came out. The cutouts make it a little more obvious I need to keep working hard in class. I’m almost exactly the same weight I was pre pregnancy (I’m off by like 2 pounds) I’m just a bit more doughy than before and in weird places like my back (seriously, how do you get a fat back?). I’m lucky, I’m not spilling out of the back. I just don’t like the way it looks on me. I’ll still wear this to class, but I’m not keen to share photos just now. However, if you are self conscience or are heavier you may want to skip leotards with the cutouts. 

If you do not specify what kind of fabric you want (shiny or matte) Elevé will pick for you. I elected to let them pick for me and they chose matte. While I love it, you need to be aware it makes every lump and bump visible. My various bumps and such were much more apparent in the Steel/Orchid leo. You could see the outline of my ribs and even the indent where my c section scar is (for the record mine barely goes in, this is just how obvious things are underneath this fabric). I can wear tights and undies underneath and it’ll be fine, but you need a lot of body confidence to wear this type of fabric. I would pick it again, but probably only if I’m getting a darker color. The red and black leo is the same matte fabric yet it does not show everything underneath. Something to keep in mind, not every color is available in both finishes. At present Vampire is only available in matte, same goes for the Orchid.

You do have a lot of control with these leotards, but Elevé reserves the final say. If they feel the colors/patterns you pick don’t match their aesthetic then they will not make it. If they can’t reach you to discuss color changes they’ll do it themselves. So to play it safe I opted to just pick from the list of colors under the mesh swatches. The list of colors is just what colors are featured in the mesh (the rose mesh had seven colors in that design) and since this was my first order with them I figured it would be best to play it safe. 

Size wise this brand is my perfect fit leotard. I bought a Large, but possibly could have gone down to a Medium. I think the material that they use is forgiving enough that even if I dropped 15 pounds I could still wear the Large. But I bought the Large to be safe since I’m so tall and I don’t regret it. They’re very long are I would 100% recommend them to people who are tall or have a long torso and have a hard time finding leotards that fit. So listen up tall people, this is your brand- stop looking. I took these out of their bags and all I could think is, “Wow! They’re so long!”. They’re very comfortable and I don’t expect there to be any issues with riding up or digging into the shoulders.

As you can see, there is a huge style difference between Elevé and Yumiko. I personally like both, and can see myself owing a number of pieces from each brand. But if you told me I could buy another leotard today I would pick Elevé. I just love that they have soooo many options and I’m in love with a couple more of their floral prints. They buy their patterned fabrics in small quantities too, so that their leotards are even more unique. So hopefully they’ll still have some of those prints when I’m finally ready to order again.

I also want to say that this was a fantastic company to work with. I ordered the Orchid/Steel leotard first then a day or so later decided I wanted to buy another. I was fully prepared to pay for shipping twice because it was my fault for not buying them at the same time. But there was something weird going on with the website and it kept trying to charge me extra for the shipping saying I was out of the country. So I contacted them and they got back to me so quickly. At that point I asked if they would just tack this on to the original order even if it bumped it out of line and they said it was no issue. So A++ for customer service! They’re also a U.S. based company and all of their leotards are made here. So if it’s important to you to support U.S. companies then this is the brand for you. 

Price is also something I wanted to talk about. For what you’re getting these are very reasonably priced. These were $63 and $65 plus $6 shipping for both, I do not recall paying tax. I’ve seen basic black ones selling in dance supply stores for at least that much. And while it is important to support local businesses, they do not have to overcharge to the point your credit card melts going through the machine. So if you’re looking for a custom leotard that won’t break the bank then Elevé is a great brand to consider and technically you are supporting a local business, assuming you live in the U.S..

I hope everyone liked this review and that people find it helpful. I’ll try to do an update after I’ve worn these but I don’t expect to run into any issues. The fabric feels sooooo soft and lovely. And my ring actually caught on one as I was putting it on and you couldn’t even tell so it’s sturdy stuff. My only concern is with the red one bleeding, but even there I think I’ll be okay. I just couldn’t be happier with these two and can’t wait until next week when I can wear them!

 

14 thoughts on “My Elevé Leotards Are Here!

  1. Thanks for the reviews! The Steel and Orchid combination is lovely. Gosh, I’m loving all these leotards you’ve ordered! It makes me want to get my Christmas “rewards” sooner! 🙂

    • No problem! There just aren’t many reviews for this brand anywhere online. And I myself only learned of them after watching Breaking Pointe. So I’m happy to throw my opinion out there, cause it can be hard spending so much money (and waiting so long) for something custom when perhaps you’ve never even seen a real one. And the professional photos you see on their site are nice. But lets be honest, a real life shot gives you a much better idea of what the item will be like. My photos are not photoshopped, light enhanced, or anything like that. They’re just honest pics that aren’t designed to sell, and it makes a huge difference when you’re trying to make a decision.

      I’m glad I discovered brand though. I’ve had them a few hours and already they’re favorites. They really are just soooo long, a full two inches longer than my Yumiko’s. Also the colors and patterns they offer are amazing. I just wish they had a few more “plain” styles. The thing I like about Yumiko is that the designs are simplistic. And I think they could stand to have a few more basic shapes without all the crazy cutouts or zippers in their catalog.

      And I second your comment about Christmas “rewards”. I wouldn’t mind a few to this company as well!

    • Thank you! I put a lot of thought into my color choices. Although to be honest I was a bit nervous with the Elevé ones. I have a really good color memory so I knew the Yumiko one would work. But I’ll I had to go off of for the Elevé ones were the photos they had online. And indeed the Steel color is much lighter than I thought it would be. But I still love it and it works. The other colors were pretty much as I expected them to be, and for that I’m grateful. I hate buying red things and having them be more orangey in person. That never flatters me. This one is a true blue based red and I absolutely love it.

    • It’s never too late to start. 😀 My current teacher didn’t take up dance until after she had her kids. And my teacher in HI is currently pregnant with #2. Anyone can do it if they have the desire!

  2. Your leotard reviews are great!!! I also love the Eleve leotards and wanted to pass along some info that I discovered. Most of the styles you can order without the crazy cut out backs. I have both the Nicole and Anna styles but without the cut out on the lower back. All you have to do is call and ask if that particular style can be cut without the hole and most of the time they can! I leave it in the comments section of the order.

    I find with the Eleves that the patterns are always bigger in size then I imagine and the colors slightly different. However, I’ve mostly been happy with the exception of one time their description said a particular color matched a pattern, but did not. I haven’t had any issues with their colors bleeding and the mesh has held up pretty well!

    These are addicting!

    • Thank you so much! As I’ve said before, there just aren’t enough real reviews for the higher end leotards. And it’s a lot to spend on something you can’t try on or even see before buying. So I’m very happy to offer my take on them, just to give people like me an idea of what they’re really like.

      It’s fantastic to know you can get many of their styles without the cutouts, thank you so much for that tip! I think even as I continue to tone up I’ll be less self conscience about my back. But I’m just not a big fan of the cutouts, so if I can get them without them I think I’ll be doing that from now on. Some of them come so low you can see my tights underneath and I don’t love the look (yes I’m a dweeb and wear my tights under the leotard (: ).

      I’m really happy with the more generous fit myself. As a tall woman I need that extra inch or two, otherwise it’s really uncomfortable. And I hate having to go up a size just to accommodate my torso lengthwise. I’m sorry you had issues with the colors. I think once you get into prints it gets tricky cause you can’t check to really be sure. Since this was my first order I decided to play it safe and went for boring color combos but I’m happy with the way it worked out. Next time I might get a little bold, but I think I might want to contact the company to run my ideas by them. Because they can pull the bolts and double check. I wonder if they’d be willing to send a picture if I asked…

      I’m really happy to hear the mesh holds up. It seemed very sturdy and I was really pleased with that. I hand wash mine and I really go to town with my scrub board so it’s great to hear I don’t need to treat it like glass. My red one bleeds a bit, but it only seems to happen while washing. I’ve had no issues with it running onto my tights. Oddly it bleeds fluorescent yellow, but it’s been less and less with each wash.

      I’m counting the seconds till I get to buy another. I know what I’m asking for, for Christmas this year!

      • i love your new yumiko and elevés! i ordered an elevé a few months ago (the deanna) and must have chosen a poor colour scheme or something.. i felt like the fabric and construction of the yumikos was way better and i didn’t really like the way the elevé fit me like i was repurposing a swimsuit. yours look great though! 🙂

        ps. i just had a skirt that someone gave me bleed a horrendous amount of fluorescent yellow onto one of my tights.. i wonder what causes that? luckily i was washing it with a black leo so that didn’t get ruined..

      • Thank you!

        I’ve heard some people say some of these custom leo’s can come out very swimwear-esque. But that’s usually when matte fabric is used, like the techni with a Yumiko. I’ll admit, my red and black one sometimes feels a bit, I don’t know, scuba like. It’s odd. I think it’s part of the risk you run when you buy a custom leotard (or custom anything really). It’s not a tried and tested design and that poses risks. I do put a great deal of time and thought into the styles and colors I pick. I try to go with safe colors I’m positive will work and like to wear ordinarily so it reduces the odds of being disappointed. I feel like they’re too expensive to get “adventurous”. I know I could probably flip them pretty fast on eBay, but who wants to deal with the hassle? Maybe as time goes by I’ll get a little more fun, but for now I’m happy playing it safe. 🙂

        I had that same weird bleeding with my Elevé leotards. Even the gray and pink one. It was definitely worse with the red and black one, but I was very surprised to have issues with the grey one. I’ve theorized it’s the nude liner because it’s the only thing the two of them have in common. It didn’t seem to stain anything, even on the lighter leo. It’s just a weird thing. After about three or four washes it stopped happening and it never bled onto my tights and really that’s all I care about.

  3. Pingback: Elevé vs Yumiko | the koolchicken

  4. Pingback: New Elevé Dancewear! | the koolchicken

  5. How do I check the progress on my eleve leotard? It said on the website that it would take 2-3 business days, but it is not here yet. How do I check where it is? Is there a package tracker?

    • This is more a question for their customer service team. I do not work for the company in any capacity. But like most stores if you log in to your account you can see your order status. It’s possible it hasn’t shipped yet, if it has there will be a tracking number. I couldn’t say though as I don’t have access to their private customer information.

Leave a Reply

