Gluten Free Chicken & Pasta

Today is going to be a bit of a change of pace. I’m going to be sharing a recipe I really enjoy. It’s fast, easy, and soooooo good.

I constantly hear people on mommy blogs talking/complaining about how they can’t possibly make a meal from scratch because they’re so time consuming. To me, that’s ridiculous. There’s just no reason for people to rely on take-aways and prepackaged frozen dinners for every meal. It’s not difficult to pull together many meals, it just takes a bit of thought. I hate cooking myself and I’m no Julia Child, but I can still pull together a decent meal without too much effort. So this is definitely one of those, “If I can do it, anyone can” things.

Here’s what we’re making today.

IMG_8896

(I didn’t quite have enough rotini so I tossed in the last of my penne)

Ingredients

Chicken

Olive Oil

Pasta (I like Heartland GF pasta or Barilla’s GF version, but obviously use what you like)

Bell Peppers (I like red, orange, and yellow for this dish)

Cheese (I prefer mozzarella and parmesan, but havarti is really good too)

1. Chop bell peppers and chicken, fry in a couple of teaspoons of olive oil

2. Boil pasta and drain

3. Reduce the heat in the frying pan and add the pasta

4. Add cheese and mix well

5. Serve immediately

This meal is really one of my favorite meals. It’s also really good as leftovers, assuming you have any left. I find gluten free pasta doesn’t hold up very well if it has a sauce on it. But this can be kept in the fridge for a few days (again, assuming it lasts that long) without having the pasta get mushy or fall apart. I also love how you have everything in one bowl, a protein, veggie, dairy, starch. And you only use two pans so clean up is pretty fast too.

Assuming you really are pressed for time this meal can be sped up even further. You can buy pre cut veggies, fresh or frozen. And while I usually use frozen chicken thighs, I sometimes use Costco rotisserie chickens. I usually use fresh bell peppers and I’ve found that cutting three bell peppers takes only slightly more time than cutting up two. So I like to freeze the excess for fast meals such as this saving me prep time on days I just don’t want to do anything.

So there you have it! A home cooked meal in the same amount of time (or less) it would take you to order and pick up take out. It’s impossible to mess up and you can modify it to your own personal tastes. I know when I was pregnant I liked to add a sweet onion. Some other things I suggest are corn, cauliflower, or broccoli you could add or substitute any of those with no issues.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

