I’m Gonna Need New Pants

I’m actually on vacation right now and I’ve scheduled this to publish while I’m away. So nothing is really going to happen today, sorry. But I am going to tell you about future plans!

My pajama pants have died. This isn’t a big issue for most people, they can just go to any store and pick up a new pair. But as a really tall woman I only own three two pairs cause finding ones that fit can be an nightmare. I had been talking to my husband about making a few new pairs and not a day later did I notice a hole in the back of my pants. It was a small hole and I figured I’d fix it later. I woke up the next morning to discover it was now a foot long and the fabric had basically disintegrated. There’s just no fixing them.

IMG_9330

The fabric is awesome right? My MIL knew exactly what pair I was talking about when I told her they died. 😉 I’d had them for seven years, they lived a good life. They were pretty much the only pair I wore when I was pregnant. When you’re tall you don’t get many options for pj’s, so I got stuck with a size Large. This is how I’ve been wearing them since I got them.

IMG_9332

It’s not super comfy having that all bunched up in front like that. It was great when I was pregnant don’t get me wrong, but it was the only time they fit. But beggars can’t be choosers. I bought them from Old Navy and they’re impossible as a company. They usually just slap a Tall label on their regular clothes and send them out. So there’s no sense in trying to buy another pair from them, I had to order like a dozen just to get this pair that was long enough. I’ve had too many instances of buying two of the same top or pants only to have one show up long enough (or almost long enough) and the other is way too short. Old Navy has zero quality control so I no longer shop there (except for baby socks, I have to admit they’re the best).

I’ve made my own pants in the past and that’s what I’m going to do again. My two other pairs of pants that are just as old and almost as well loved, so they’re probably not long for this world either. I ordered some swatches of the fabric I created on Spoonflower and I’ll get them when I get home. I’ll share them on here so everyone can see how they turned out. I’m not too sure which fabric type I’ll pick, still on the fence about that but it’ll be one of the cottons that much is for sure. I don’t want my lounge wear to be polyester, I’d like to be comfortable. I plan to use a different pair of pants to make my pattern, they have a wider, longer leg. I’m also going to omit the ties cause I hate them and go for a wide elastic waistband instead. I’ll probably also make them somewhat high waisted to avoid my stomach which still hurts quite a bit.

Making pj pants is super easy and anyone can do it. It’s a fantastic beginners project that really only requires you to be able to sew a straight line. But there is still plenty of room for customization. Fun ribbon ties, contrasting cuffs or hems, piping, pockets. Lots of ways to make them fancy while still keeping it a simple project. I do need these pants sooner than later so I know it’ll probably be made by months end, they’re getting priority. So keep an eye out, I’ll probably have a tutorial up by the end of October!

3 thoughts on “I’m Gonna Need New Pants

  1. I wouldn’t call them my favorites. They were ugly as sin and were too big. I literally wore them to death because they were long enough. I probably could have altered the waist, but I was lazy and that paid off for me in the end. I’m no longer interested in fighting with companies to send me what they advertise. Old Navy is just not worth that level of frustration. I’ll just make my own from here on out.

    • I love plaid! I can’t wait to see what you end up making. I think you’ll love the freedom of making exactly what you want. Post them when you do.

Leave a Reply

