DIY Etched Glass Water Bottle

I know I mentioned that I was going to share with you all a craft I saw on Pintrest that I thought was really cool. It’s finally happening! It all started when I saw this awesome etched glass water bottle and I loved it, but it was sold out. So I did what I usually do, turned to Pintrest to see if I could track it down elsewhere. While I didn’t find that same bottle, I did find a tutorial I could follow to make my own.

how to make an etched glass water bottle with a voss bottle and martha stewart glass etching cream

This water bottle looked awesome so I knew I had to try it. First thing I did was head to JoAnn’s. There I found the exact same type of stencils, you can also find them here on Amazon.

unnamed (2)

 

unnamed (3)

The second shot is just a close up of one of them. I haven’t used this set yet but I have plans for it!

I also bought some glass etching cream and paintbrushes, I really liked these Martha Stewart ones. They wash up so nicely and work very well. I’d definitely buy more of these in the future.

unnamed (1)

Then I had to track down a water bottle. I used a Voss bottle like in the tutorial, but you could use any glass bottle you happen to have. First thing I did was remove the paint from the bottle. In the tutorial I linked to they used a paint scraper but it’s really overkill if you’re using a Voss bottle. I literally took a Brillo (steel wool) pad to it and the paint came off with no effort whatsoever. Then I rubbed the whole bottle down with a little rubbing alcohol.

Next I had to decide where to place my stencils. Once I found my ideal placement I stuck them on (they’re sticky!) and grabbed some gloves. The glass etching cream is pretty dangerous so you need to be sure your skin is protected. I actually have a really big prescription pill bottle that I keep mine in because I’m paranoid about my son getting into it. I couldn’t find the Martha Stewart brand they use in the tutorial, but I found this one and it worked just as well.

unnamed

I’ll admit, I slapped this stuff on and waited the required time. I wiped it off and honestly, I thought it hadn’t worked. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t in a super well lit area (remember the cave I used to live in?), maybe it’s because the stencils were still on. I don’t know, but for a minute there I was like “Oh man, another bogus pin”. 😦 But after I took the stencils off and washed the bottle I was like “Woah!” It looked so cool! So here she is, in all her glory.

unnamed (5)

Do you know how hard it is to take pictures of something semi-translucent on something totally clear? I didn’t, now I do. Still, it looks really good in person. I totally want to do this again and I’m sure I will. I still have the stencils (they’re reusable) and some of the glass etching cream left, not that it was very expensive. In fact the priciest part of the project was probably the stencils and they were only about $10. They sell them lots of places and Michaels and JoAnnes have 40% coupons a lot. You can reuse them (as well as the paintbrushes) so that saves you if you plan to do this several times. I recently had this great, totally original idea to do this on some of my Pyrex dishes. Then I looked online and realized a million other people had already had this totally “original” idea. You can actually buy monogrammed ones on Etsy.

If you like these stencils but don’t want to use the preexisting patterns you can make your own as Martha Stewart sells sheets of this stuff.

unnamed (4)

I should warn you though, it’s not adhesive. You’ll either have to tape it down or use spray adhesive but it’s the same flexible material. You’ll be able to cut through it with an exacto knife.

So there you have it. An easy craft anyone can do, that yields some pretty amazing results. You could do this in an afternoon. I wouldn’t recommend letting kids help, maybe a teen or very mature tween. As for food safety I’m fairly certain these are fine to drink out of since the etching was done on the exterior of the bottle. I scrubbed it well before use though. Just don’t go trying to sue me if you do this then decide I’m responsible if you drop your bottle and it breaks or something equally ridiculous. And while I do intend to do this on some of my Pyrex dishes I’m going to do it on the outside of the dish. So bottom line. I’ve been using my bottle for almost a year with no ill effects. I followed all of the package instructions on the etching cream and I treat it likes it’s a glass bottle, because it is. So use good judgement!

That’s all for now, see you next week!

4 thoughts on “DIY Etched Glass Water Bottle

  1. Pingback: Creative DIY Glass Etching Projects

  2. Pingback: Awesome DIY Glass Etching Projects

Leave a Reply

