Day Planner Supplies

Hi everyone, today I’m going to talk about planner/agenda supplies! I do have an electronic day planner that I use and love (Cozi for IOS devices) but it wasn’t working for my blog. At some point, even an electronic planner can get cluttered. So I decided to go back to a paper planner, but just for my blogging. I did have a disc bound planner and some printables, but I wanted to save that notebook for different things. So I bought a Lilly Pulitzer agenda. To go with that I decided to get some accessories. When I initially went into the store I planned to get just a couple sheets of stickers. But Joann’s happened to be running a 40% off sale on their stickers and paper crafting supplies, so between the sale and some of the great things I found. Well… I think you can guess what happened. Yeah, I got a bit carried away.

I decided to try something different with this post. I filmed a video for you all! In this you’ll see what I bought and how I’m using it. Let me know what you think!

Now my craft room is still a work in progress so I need a place where I can have easy access to some of my stationary supplies. So I converted our kitchen junk drawer into a stationary drawer! I share the space with my husband so I just removed his stuff for the photo, but the rest is mine. I literally use this drawer several times a day. It makes me so happy just to look at it. All that washi tape! I swear I spend half the day looking for places to stick it. I actually have some framing my laptop screen right now. πŸ˜‰

IMG_3066

I think even after I get my craft room up and running I’m going to keep a small stationary “command center” in the kitchen. It’s just super practical. I love having a small stash of thank you notes, along with pens and some fun tapes right there in my kitchen. I don’t know why I didn’t start doing this years ago. Having them in some closet is a pain, this makes sure my notes get written promptly! And having some washi tape close by is always a good thing! Never know when you’ll need it. πŸ™‚

I wanted to also take a moment to show you all what my current planner looks like. I’m using this until my Lilly one comes in (it’s backordered, plus it doesn’t start until August). I have June already filled in but didn’t want to share what’s coming up next week, so I’m only showing you July. As you can see it’s very simplistic but it still works. It’s bright, colorful, and with the label stickers it’s easy to just look at it and go “Oh, next week I’m doing X so I’d better get on it”. I also have enough room to fill in other little things like doctors appointments and such that I might need to work around. Like this month, I have two doctors appointments and I may have to have more in July. So I have some washi (which is often removable) in my June pages showing that day, and notes on how I can keep myself on track if I don’t feel up to writing.

IMG_3068

I love looking at how other people decorate their planners. I could watch those videos on YouTube all day. In the past I found this really challenging but over time I’ve gotten better at it. I think it also helps if you don’t really need to write that much down. For me I’m aiming for one post a week. So I have one day where it’s always going to be blocked off, plus the other side of the week where I can write a note or two. The rest of the space is then free to decorate.

If you’re wondering how I put these pages together it’s actually really simple. To start the top of the page where the month and year go I used the scrapbooking paper I showed you in the video. I used double sided tape to stick it down, and just used some letter stickers I had on hand. If I wanted to keep things simple I could have just written what I was going to post every Monday in the square, but adding a cute label sticker really jazzes it up. Same goes for the notes I wanted to add for later in the week. The long labels that cover Thursday through Saturday also serve the dual purpose of blocking off all of those days, since that’s the time I’ve planned out to write. That leaves me with Sundays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays to add additional notes or to decorate. With the printables I’m using there’s also a Notes section off to the far right, but I elected to cover that section with more scrapbooking paper to add a little color. The addition of some washi tape was just a fun way to add even more color, patterns, and tie the whole look together. To keep the pages I want together open I used some star shaped paperclips I found at Ikea.

For July I pretty much copied what I did in June, just in another color scheme. The only really difference is the addition of a few doodles. All in all this is very simple to do, but it really helps when you have coordinating supplies. For the most part everything I used is from the same line and they’re made to go with one another. But you can pull an organized look off even without using matching sets. I think it’s always easier when you start with a color scheme and go from there. There’s also a lot of great inspiration on Pintrest and YouTube, and there are so many bloggers who write about nothing but day planners. There are even some groups that pick a color scheme (or other design inspiration) and challenge all of their followers to decorate their moth or week around those colors. So it can take a lot of the guess work out of it for you.

Hopefully this planner keeps working for me and I’ll be able to keep up with my posting schedule. I know I haven’t even been doing this a month but so far I really like knowing every Monday there will be something new up. This is no longer a source of stress for me. I just come up with something and I write when I get the chance, and schedule it to go live when there’s an open slot. I hope all of you are enjoying the posts. I know they’re all a bit random and this blog doesn’t have a clear direction if you will. But for me, it’s just sort of all my favorite things to read about in one spot. Ballet gear, crafting, sewing, stationary, Pintrest (OMG Pintrest!), and more. I have to assume I’m not really that unique and this stuff would appeal to a lot of other people as well. I’m always surprised by how many hits I get on this blog everyday, so it’s clear the what I’m writing about is working for at least some people. I don’t know. I just love reading “fun” blogs, and I like the idea of maybe being one of them. πŸ™‚

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

