Discount Dance Leotards Review

***I am so sorry this post didn’t go up sooner. I have no idea what happened, WordPress totally failed me.***

Hello all, I’m coming to you from Hawaii again this week! I’ve been taking a lot of classes while staying here, and having just a few leotards isn’t cutting it. As I mentioned in a past post Discount Dance was having a big sale so I figured, why not? They had a few leotards that were on my wish list and I had them shipped here. They arrived today (it’s a Friday) so too late for this weeks classes, but they’ll be washed and ready for next week!

If you remember my last post where I talked about the leotards I bought, I bought two brands, Wear Moi and Bloch. I’ve never bought either of those brands before and had only tried on a couple of Bloch ones in the past, so I didn’t really know what to expect. I’ve tried them all on, but haven’t washed them or worn them in class yet so this is just an overview and my thoughts. Also, I’d like to make something clear. I’m not happy with the way I look in any of these. The meds I’m taking for nerve pain have made me gain an epic amount of weight and I’m not loving the cellulite I now sport. I also didn’t really bother with my hair, so there we are. 😦

First up, the Bloch leotard.

image

image

image

image

image

My my first impression of this is that it’s a decent quality leotard. The shelf bra is nice and I’ll never say no to one. The lace is also pretty nice. There’s a hook and eye at the top and you’ll need to use it. The zipper is good it slides really well. That’s a good thing, but it’s also why you’ll need that hook and eye. Zipping it up without it fastened meant the zipper just kept sliding back down if you put it down to switch hands (I can zip myself up). Once up though it stays- so far.

image

image

image

The fit on this was pretty good. The size is a Large which is what I’d usually order and it did fit despite my weight gain. It was comfortable enough that I’d be able to wear it now, but it’ll be better once I can get the weight off. Something to consider if you have a long torso, the zipper doesn’t stretch. Now I thought about that when placing my order but I know some won’t think of it, and it’s important. Because it’s nearly two thirds the length of the leotard that won’t stretch and that could spell disaster for some. So if you’re very concerned maybe try and see if you can try it on in a local dance shop or buy it knowing you may have to pay for return shipping. Overall I think this was a good buy, it’s totally worth the $35 it’s selling for full price, but it was a downright steal on sale.

Up next are the Wear Moi leotards.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

So first impressions were “wow”. Something not mentioned in the description is that the flocking detail is metallic on the black leotard. When I see myself straight on in the mirror the detail is black, but as I turn to the side it shifts to a really pretty silver. It really is lovely. Something else I noticed straight out of the packaging was the little flocking flecks all over the leotard. 😦 I was pretty disappointed in that. For the price I expected a bit more. I don’t know how well this one will hold up but I’m hopeful. Something else of note, there’s branding on the outside of the leotard. I personally don’t care for labels all over the outside of my clothes (dance or otherwise). I’m just grateful it’s not super obvious, if it was I’d have sent this back.

image

image

image

This one is pretty snug, more so than the Bloch one. It fits and is comfortable, but it’s certinaly not the best fitting one I own. I’m hoping it won’t ride up or anything, if it does I can always wear my tights over top to hold it down but I’d rather not be forced to wear it a certian way. Again, I’m hoping when I lose the med weight it’ll fit better. As you can see the branding is largely invisible which makes me happy (though not as happy as if there were none). And if you notice the flocked design looks just plain black here compared to the silvery way they look in some of the other photos. And that’s pretty consistent. Sometimes they appear matte black, other times a glittery silver. This one really is pretty and a nice option if you’re only allowed to wear black.

As far as the price goes, it’s just over $50 which I think is a lot for what you’re getting. This is a nice leotard and all, but the $30 Bloch one managed to include a bust liner. Why does this one cost nearly double but lack the same amount of detailing? Espically since the blue and purple ones I own (same style) have a full front liner. Obviously with a lighter color (which they are) you’re going to need a full liner, but including a shelf liner wouldn’t have killed them. If I hadn’t gotten this on sale I think I’d be upset. I paid around $43 for this and I think that’s okay. But given that a Elevè leotard, purchased on sale will cost $51 (that’s the least one will run you) it’s almost better to hold out for an Elevè sale if Discount Dance isn’t running a sale or you don’t have a coupon. Unless of course you really, really love this design. For me I’m glad I got the oppertunity to try something new and I know I’ll wear these a lot, but I’ll probably stick to the custome ones in the future. The Bloch one was just so well priced I can only hope they come out with some more colors and styles in the future that speak to me. Maybe I’ll get lucky and this winter they’ll have some in burgundy or hunter green. As I’d like some darker colored leotards.

This next one is the same as the above Wear Moi, just in the color Pacific which is a Aqua color.

image

image

image

image

image

Comparing this one to the black it’s like a totally different leotard. The material feels different, softer, much softer. And the flocking wasn’t shedding. It also has a full front liner. It does have the same branding but it’s almost impossible to see, much less obvious on this color than on the black so I’m pleased by that! The fit was also completely different. I bought a Large in both colors and this one fits infinitely better. I have no idea why. I also purchased one in Lilac and that one was shipped to Washington. I have seen it via FaceTime but I told my husband to leave it behind. I don’t need that many here, I can wait until I get home to try it on. But when I do you can be sure I’ll update this post. I really want to know which color is off in terms of sizing.

image

image

image

As you can see, when its worn the flocking appears more blue. The mesh is also pretty opaque, though it’s still mesh so you can still see through it a bit. I feel like the promo images make it look like it’s totally opaque and only through reading the description did I learn this leotard featured mesh. It has a decent stretch in both color ways and it’s comfortable. It’s also pretty thick (probably why it’s not super sheer) but that’s a good thing because it means that it’ll hold up well over time. I know at some point the flocking may start looking shabby but the rest of this should hold up really well.

You may have noticed that I’m wearing a bra in all of these photos and I did that on purpose. I picked one that was close to my skin tone but just off so you could see just how sheer each leotard was. I feel like what you see in the photos is exactly what you get. So all of these are good options for girls and women who feel like they need to, or simply want to wear a bra. If you pick something similar to your skin tone it’ll be very difficult to see underneath. Something else I like about all three is the neckline. I do like the sweetheart neckline with the higher neck in mesh, I have a couple of those from Elevè and I know it’s one of their best selling styles. So it makes sense the mainstream brands (as well as Etsy sellers) have started selling similar styles. Personally I don’t like a high neckline because I think it makes my shoulders look even bigger, but if it’s too low I feel self conscious if we’re bending over a lot. We do sometimes have men in my regular classes and though I know they’re not staring, I still don’t like flashing my boobs in class. So this makes me feel more covered, while still getting to enjoy the prettier low neck styles. Really a best of both worlds thing.

While this is primarily a Discount Dance/leotard post I thought I’d throw this in as well. I bought this skirt from Amazon and it’s just so pretty.

image

image

image

This pattern is called Twilight and I really love it. I stumbled across it by accident. I also own the Celestial Black one and I’m forever getting compliments on it. Everyone always wants to know where I bought it but it was in a dance shop in Massachusetts so that’s not much help to anyone at my studio. I’ve been searching for it for two years when I spotted it on Amazon! It wasn’t there before, that’s for sure. When I discovered it I saw they had two other patterns and this one was just so pretty I knew I had to add it to my collection. The material is nice, it’s almost impossible to wrinkle. The only thing I dislike is if you notice in the front, there’s this rippling? Yeah… The hem isn’t the best and it curls either up or under depending on its mood. My other one has mostly just the rippling and not the curling. I don’t really mind it though because the prints are so pretty and the length is just absolutely perfect. If it really bothered me I could fix it, but I haven’t felt the need. This is a superb skirt for adult who want to feel covered, but don’t want to wear something so long they look like the teacher. I haven’t worn my orignal skirt much (though that’s changed recently) and it’s still looking brand new. I’m sure two years from now this one will also still be in pristine condition. Here’s hoping!

Side note: I do apologize for the picture quality on these. As I said I’m not at my regular house so I’m working with different lighting issues and I’m not used to taking pictures here. I’m also pretty unhappy with the way I look and that’s not a feeling I’m accustomed to. So I feel like this post really suffered as a result and I’m sorry. I also have one more of the Wear Moi leotards in Lilac and when I get back to Washington I’ll take some photos and will add them to this blog posting. I’ll create a new post with a link so if you’re subscribed you’ll get an email and won’t have to keep checking back. 🙂 I have another two weeks or so here before I head back and I’ll probably have at least one more pointe class while I’m here. I’ll be writing about that in the coming weeks as well. So if you haven’t subscribed yet may I suggest that you do? There’s a button on the right hand side, just click there. And I wanted to give a big thank you to all of my current subscribers. I honestly still can’t believe I have so many, thank you again for joining me here. ❤️

See you next week!

One thought on “Discount Dance Leotards Review

  1. Pingback: New Elevé Dancewear! | the koolchicken

Leave a Reply

