Frozen Berry and Milk Smoothie Popsicles With Zoku Molds!

Hello all! I just got back to the mainland last night and I’m working quite hard to get as many posts written as I can because apparently, I’m going away again next week! Crazy right? Well, I’m sick as it is so I may as well use this brief break from ballet to get something done!

I originally wanted to do this post sooner, but as it happens, life got in the way. I actually planned to make these pops in Hawaii using these molds.

81+LQEKMWeL._SL1500_

I actually bought mine from World Market last month for half the price Amazon is selling them for. Williams-Sonoma had them on sale as well. Given that it’s so late in the season you can probably get these for a steal in a local shop if you’re willing to look. I first bought the individual molds at a local supermarket and my son and I thought they were so cool when we saw these we knew we had to have them as well. We know own most of the brand (hangs head in shame). But basically they’re silicone molds that you fill with your chosen recipe and once frozen you pull straight out. The silicone turns inside out, and you’re left with the coolest (pun intended) frozen treat! So what you see in the photo is actually what you’ll get.

I know there’s a lot of hype now about how all sugar will kill you, so lets all be miserable. Or something like that. So people are trying to cut out the store bought foods and make things from scratch. I don’t mind the store bought things. A sugary popsicle is something every kid should know, and a few a week, a few months out of the year, is not the end of the world. Everything in moderation, right? That said growing up I had both. My mother had these plastic molds from tupperware.

il_fullxfull.315922144

If you’re feeling nostalgic, these “vintage” popsicle molds can be found for a pittance on eBay and Etsy. This photo actually comes from Etsy, but tragically it seems this item has sold. ūüė¶

The way my mother used to do it is the way I’d imagine most mothers did. You take whatever juice you have in the fridge, fill them, stick them in the freezer, and a few hours later voila¬†popsicles! Amazing to your average toddler. I can still remember the way they tasted, with that healthy no sugar added juice that I swear tasted like incense¬†my mother bought from the food co-op (my mother is a hippie, there, I said it). I do things a little differently. Here’s a recipe my son and I like.

Frozen Cherries

Milk (I prefer Silk Coconut but use your favorite kind)

Yougurt (This is a sometimes for me, I don’t always have it around. I like Fage Greek¬†yogurt when I use it)

Take all these, and blend until smooth. Fill the Zoku container to the fill line and pop in the freezer overnight. Be sure there’s enough liquid, otherwise these might not freeze solid enough. If you’ve ever just had a frozen fruit straight from the freezer (especially cherries) you know what I’m talking about. If you’re using a fruit with a high water content like watermelon you don’t even need to add any liquid. Just stick the fruit in the blender and blend until liquid. You want it to be quite soupy. Once you fill the molds, and before you add the sticks I recommend giving the mold a few firm taps on the counter to force any air bubbles to rise. With the cherry mix I’ve found sometimes you may even want to wait a few minutes before doing this since it seems to separate and froth a bit at the top. Don’t ask me why, it just dose. It doesn’t hurt anything, nor does it taste different. It’s just not very pretty.

So that’s it. I don’t see the sense in simply freezing juice. Whole fruits are better for you because they have the fiber, vitamins, and other good for you things that pressed juices just don’t have. The milk and or yogurt adds calcium and vitamin D, and depending on whether you used dairy or not, sometimes other things because they tend to add stuff to the dairy substitutes. I really want to keep experimenting with these. I feel like for the most part you can’t go wrong. You could use just plain juice if that’s your thing. Some people just love that texture. But for me, I like freezing smoothies. It just gives the pop a ice cream or fudgesicle quality.

Now comes the boring part, clean up. Washing these things seems like it’d be a pain but it’s really not. I’ve found that if I pull the silicone part straight up and out, I can put them on the top rack of my dishwasher. If you don’t do that, then basically you just have a cup in there collecting water regardless which way you turn it. Hand washing them isn’t difficult either if you don’t have a dishwasher. I’ve done it both ways and they come up plenty clean. I’ve just found that it helps if you rinse the mold as soon as you remove your pop. Everything seems to just come off (assuming there’s anything even on there, it’s usually just a sticky film) if you rinse it promptly. Otherwise it turns to glue, just like when you have a smoothie in a glass and let it sit in the sink without rinsing. Not that I ever do that…

So that’s it for now. I’ve got some fun stuff planned in the coming weeks, I’m going to get to work on those posts now and come back and edit them later before they go live, I hope. See you next week!

3 thoughts on “Frozen Berry and Milk Smoothie Popsicles With Zoku Molds!

  1. These little molds are adorable. I’ll bet your little guy enjoys eating these pops. The ones I used to make were often out of juice from the Arlington Food Co-op. After the Fall or Knudsen’s juices. Oregon Berry was my all-time favorite!

    • I love them. There were supposed to be more photos. I took a few as I scarfed the few I had left down (sore throat). I’ve just been so sick this week there’s not been much I’ve wanted to do.

      And that juice… I’m having flashbacks, not good ones. Did they remove the sugar? I prefer something synthetic and chock full of “dangerous” sugar and corn syrup. I mean seriously, if you’re going to have juice, do it right. It’s horrible for you either way.

  2. Are cherries in season or something? There appear to be dozens of boxes in every supermarket over here right now so I must make these! And good news – TO has miraculously overcome the dairy sensitivity so I am froyoagogo (please pretend I didn’t type that!) Those moulds are too cute.

Leave a Reply

