New Fabrics and Project List

So this post was supposed to be a toddler nutcracker costume tutorial. But well, that’s not going to happen anymore. Same with the next two weeks posts. I was going to make my husband a rat king hoodie and the following week, there would be a full reveal with all the costumes. Plans have changed though, because that always seems to happen to me. It’s okay though, this is a good change. I’m going to get to go back to Boston and see my family this month. I haven’t been back in ages and I’m already planning what I want to do while I’m out there. My son’s also never experienced a “real” Halloween either so this is going to be really exciting. I never realized Halloween wasn’t a big deal, or even a thing in other parts of the US until I left Massachusetts. It seems to be celebrated here in Washington, but there’s a definite lack of frenzy. In Boston, our town priest used to kick off the annual parade around the Monument. I don’t think that happens other places… With that out of the way, on to this weeks post!

Joann has recently launched a new craft line called Buttercream. They have lots of different items like baking and party supplies but I was more interested in the fabric. I went into the store to check it out and I was pleasantly surprised. The prints are just as shown online and the feel of the cotton is just lovely. It’s in their premium cotton section, and premium it is. It’s $13 a yard but feels much nicer than that. It’s a good sturdy weight and I know that as I continue to wash and wear items I make out of it, it’ll just get better and better. It’s not overly thick though, so it’s better suited to summer dresses unless you plan to line it in something of similar thickness. But if you were to make an unlined top, it’s hardly so thin you’d be flashing people. I ended up buying two yards of the one below. I feel like my camera makes the print look a little “eh”. Those grain lines are just not so prominent in person. 

IMG_6334

If you all recall about a year ago I mentioned my favorite pair died on me and I needed to get on it and make some more because the three pairs I owned were all the same age- ancient. Yeah, well…. Lets just say life got in the way and now I’m wearing pants that have literally disintegrated in some places. It’s just disgraceful. So while I’d love to say all the fabric I bought was just for fun and is there for me to dream about and make wonderful dresses I don’t need from. Some of it does serve a purpose.

I was initially going to make a pattern from my favorite pair which is sitting in a bag in my sewing room. However I bought Amy Butler’s, In Stitches years ago and never made a single thing from it.

51VUQFymULL._SX441_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve looked through this book countless times and always dreamed of all the things I was going to make. But for some reason, I never got to it. The seal is still on the patterns if you can believe it! Since buying this book tons of other bloggers out there have made the lounge pants featured in it and I must admit they’re probably the one item that interested me the most. Clearly we have a match made in heaven. Pajama pants the blog world raves about, and my naked butt. It’s really not a game anymore, my other pairs have died as well and I’m cold!

I’m going to use these two new fabrics for my first pair.

IMG_6249

It’s nice, thick, and really soft. It’s from Joann’s premium range and ran about $12 a yard. Since they always have coupons it wasn’t that bad. I have four yards here (I’m tall remember) so before coupons (that you know I used) these pants are costing $48 a pair. Now I know that sounds like a lot, but you have to remember something. I can’t buy pants in the store, not if I want them to fit. Most places don’t have extended sizes for things like pajamas, it’s just not something that’s made. Old Navy claims to offer “tall” sizes for many of their pj pants, but all they really do is slap a different label on their regular line and pretend it’s a Tall. It’s not. I had to buy several of each pair I own (I have three pairs) just to get ones that were as advertised. And FTR, when I say I bought several pairs, I mean I bought several of each individual pair. So they do produce Tall sizes, they’re just few and far between and for the most part they really do just put tall labels on their regular merchandise. If you want to buy from specialty sites then you’re going to pay $70 or more. And I’m sorry, but these are pjs. I’ll pay a lot for my clothes because obviously, I wear them to death. I want quality. Despite that I’m still not going to spend that kind of money on something that 1. I can make, 2. I don’t know what the quality will be like, and 3. will probably still fit funny because even the “tall” pj pants usually only go to a 35″ inseam. 😦

I bought these two fabrics last year when I was initially planning to make some pants. It was so long ago I can’t for the life of me remember what I paid. But I seriously doubt it was more than seven dollars a yard. So these are probably going to be the least expensive pajama pants I’ve ever owned! And they’ll be the most fun too. My son loves elephants and I just thought the pattern was so cool. Not something you’d see on pj pants. It’s not really something you’d see on anything really. So I knew I had to have it. The foxes are flannel. I do know when I bought this I was contemplating Christmas fabric (because I’m always contemplating Christmas fabric). But I decided this was a little more year round friendly. As much as I love Christmas, I don’t like wearing those prints past the season. So while I’ll probably indulge at some point, that point will not be right now.

IMG_6341

When I saw this print I just had to have it.

IMG_6253

My son saw it and yelled “Winnie the Pooh!” and I knew he was on to something. It was so inexpensive too, I want to say $5 a yard plus I got an extra 30% off! The color is a bit off here, it’s a nicer, brighter, marigold color in real life. I plan to make a skirt out of this one. I recently bought Sew Many Dresses, So Little Time from Amazon. I desperately want to make the dirndl skirt in it but I can’t. I bought one copy and the patterns were missing from the back. So I called them and they sent me out a second copy overnight. Well, that copy was also missing the patterns. Seriously Amazon? Clearly someone’s stealing them out of the back of the books because there’s no way the publisher is sending them out that way. So if I want this book it looks like I’m going to have to buy it in store. Because I’m just not trusting Amazon again. There are far too many other people commenting on the missing patterns in the reviews. They should have dealt with this by now. Supposedly if I call them and report the same problem again they’ll pull the book from the site so they can “investigate”, but it’s way too late for that.

I ended up buying this from Barnes and Noble, it cost me $10 more. Not the biggest deal (or largest sum) in the grand scheme of things, but I’d have rather saved the money and had the book days earlier. Now that I have it I’m so overwhelmed with all the patterns. There’s just sooo much to pick from. And from what I’ve sen, this is a very solid book. I fully intend to do a review of it because I think it’d be a great addition to anyone’s home sewing library, but more than that, I think it would be really helpful to someone who’s looking to branch out from craft sewing to garment construction. When I make my skirt I’ll be sure to take photos of the process. I’m not usually a yellow fan but I love the damask print and yellow is a bit of an unusual color. Paired with a red cardigan I think it’d look lovely. And just perfect for a Winnie the Pooh DisneyBound. Or even just any old day.

Some of these fabrics are destined for dresses, or parts of dresses. I want to try embroidering on patterned fabrics. I want to find some floral embroidery patterns that are similar to the prints in the fabric and do some designs around the hem. Just to add a bit of heft and interest. My most favorite dress in the world (seen here) is covered in embroidery. I love the weight and thickness of it. It’s so warm too. So I’d like to experiment with creating something similar.

IMG_6252

IMG_6336

IMG_6337

IMG_6254

IMG_6257

This last one is actually a very small print.

IMG_6256

This is my favorite out of all of them. I literally love it so much I went back for more yardage. I actually spend time just thinking about this fabric I love it so much. I don’t know what I’m going to make out of it, but I have six yards so it’s more than enough for anything I might think up. 🙂

This is the current state of my craft/sewing room. I think it’s is really coming along.

IMG_5503

I swear this is an improvement.

It’s crazy to think this was just a pile of stuff for so long (one big pile, not just several smaller ones…). And it’s even worse realizing I haven’t sewn since moving into this house last February. That’s waaaay too long. It’s no wonder I haven’t been happy. I mean I’m happy, but I could be happier. Not being able to make things is frustrating for me. The pile of ideas in my head is ever growing and if I don’t see some of them realized soon, they’re going to topple over in there! I do not want to see that happen! Also, I have so much fabric that I bought ages ago with the intention of making things straight away it’s really starting to bug me. Much of what I have (and by that I mean nearly everything, there’s more than what I showed you just now) was purchased before we moved last winter. I really want to start seeing those things I dreamed up so long ago come to life.

I’ll be sure to post more photos of the craft room as it evolves. It really has come a long way. It wasn’t that long ago that it looked like this.

IMG_2852

I hope one day it’ll be covered in the things that I love. I plan to save some of the scraps from my projects and do something with them. A crazy patchwork slipcover for my chair? Bunting perhaps? I definitely want to start compiling a fabric archive (look for that in a future post!). I just have so many plans. I am traveling a lot between now and March but I’m going to still try and get as much done as I can in my spare time. There really isn’t a lot of that what with a husband, toddler, and ballet four times a week. But I think I can get at least a few projects done if I really try. And I know I took a break last month but September really isn’t a practical month for me to be on hiatus seeing as I do costume/sewing posts. I’m thinking Spring would be better for me. So maybe April is when I’ll take my annual break? Or maybe I’ll hold off until summer and do it in July. That’d give me time to work out my costume posts. The sewing obviously takes a long time, then there’s the time I need to write. So I need to start work on those posts pretty far in advance if they’re going to happen in time. I don’t know, whatever. I have plenty of time to figure it all out.

Here is a list of things that I’m planning to make. You may or may not see them as blog posts or tutorials. Please do feel free to comment and let me know if there is something you’d like to see a tutorial on!

*Pajama Pants

*Simple Cotton Skirt

*A Dress From This Book

*Ballet Legwarmers

*Ballet Warmup Shorts

*Play Mat For My Son

That’s all for now. See you next week!

2 thoughts on “New Fabrics and Project List

  1. Ah your sewing room is gorgeous! Really excited to see how things come along. The teal colour fabric is going to really suit you and that last swatch reminds me so much of Liberty fabric – I have a lot of love for Liberty!

    • Thank you! I’ve actually really buckled down and cleaned it out. I was drowning in in “stuff” for far too long. I really need to do a post on it at some point because it’s a room that serves more than one function, that’s why I have two desks.

      And yes, I thought it looked like Liberty too! Now I know I’m not just imagining things. I was over the moon when they partnered with Nordstrom for their pop up shop. Even more so when I found half the line at Nordstrom Rack the next month for 75% off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

